Daisy Jones & the Six REVIEW

I was actually going to skip over this one, but I had one day where I was able to listen to an audiobook at work which rarely happens, and this one came in at 9 hours and was just the right length for me to fit it in at work so I decided to give it a try after loving The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by the same author!

reid_9781524798628_jkt_all_r1.inddEveryone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now.

Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock and roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things.

Also getting noticed is The Six, a band led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road.

Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes that the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend.

The making of that legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.

I have no idea how Taylor Jenkins Reid writes these characters that makes you feel like they are real life people that you could just Google more information about them, but this is the second book of hers that has made me want to do so! I fell in love with the characters and just wanted to know more about them, and the ending of this book is so bittersweet that it almost brought tears to my eyes. If you get the chance to listen to this one on audio, I highly recommend it! Especially because some of the voice actors are actual actors, it comes across as one of those documentaries about bands without being able to look at the screen and it was just so enthralling.

All of the women in this book were so powerful and the messages about being a strong and capable woman were so freaking fantastic! The relationships between each of the women in particular is one of mutual respect, even if they are at odds with each other they never get catty or anything like that.

Now that it’s been a while since I’ve read/listened to this book, i feel a little more distanced from the story and the characters, but I still sometimes think about Daisy and Billy and their lives. I especially loved that each of the characters saw each event in their lives differently, and it made everything a lot more realistic.

The slowest parts for me were the songwriting parts, and it was really detailed on the process of creating these songs, but while I say that it is slow, it was still highly enjoyable especially if you are interested in the making of music. The topics covered were also done in a really tasteful way, from issues like addiction, cheating, death and alcohol use.

The ending where we find out who is interviewing the band and people close to them wasn’t necessarily surprising, but I didn’t see it coming because I felt like there were no clues as to who it was, but it is very possible that I missed that part since I was listening to the audio book.

My one biggest fear about this book was the writing style. I didn’t think I would enjoy an interview format for a book since I’ve never really read anything in that style. But I’m glad to say that I didn’t have any issues with it, so if that is something you aren’t sure about, I still recommend giving it a try because you may be surprised!

 


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

14 responses to “Daisy Jones & the Six REVIEW”

  1. Madam Mim Avatar
    Madam Mim

    How interesting! It sounds great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      Thank you! It’s a really good book!

      Like

  2. Carol Avatar

    This sounds good and I’ve read a lot of favorable reviews! 👍 The Ensemble is another story about musicians,….a classical quartet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      I’ve never heard about that one but I’ll look it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. onthebookpage Avatar

    Okey this makes it. I really need to buy and read this book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      You should! It was a really great read!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. onthebookpage Avatar

        Loved Evelyn Hugo soo I bet this will be great to 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Kathy @ Pages Below the Vaulted Sky Avatar

    I didn’t even think of trying the audiobook for this one, but now I think I need to listen to it! It sounds like such an immersive read! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      It really is! And just getting to hear the actors was great because they really chose people who embodied the feel of those characters.

      Like

  5. allthingsalexx Avatar
    allthingsalexx

    I’ve seen so much about this book and I didn’t really know if I was going to like it, however your review has changed my mind. I’m tempted to buy it now and see what I think. I’m also tempted to invest in audible because everything gives it such a good review🤔
    Alex x
    http://allthingsalexx.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      I really liked the audiobook. I don’t think I would’ve liked the story as much if I had physically read it!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Top 10 of 2019 – Melting Pages Avatar

    […] listened to Daisy Jones & the Six on audio this year, and I definitely think that was the way to go for this book. It’s told in […]

    Like

  7. Jules_Writes Avatar

    Fab review – I’ve been looking at this sitting on my TBR pile shouting out for my attention!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Katie @ Melting Pages Avatar

      Thank you! I highly recommend the audiobook because it’s a full cast!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment