This Savage Song REVIEW

Before reading this book, the only Schwab books I’ve read is her Shades of Magic series, which I absolutely adored and definitely need to reread this year. After reading This Savage Song I can say with great certainty that Schwab is now definitely one of my favorite authors!

40642172There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwaba young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

I ended up listening to this one on audio, and I think that is really the way to go with this book! I loved that you actually got a tune for the little nursery rhyme, which still gets stuck in my head –Sunai, sunai, eyes like coal. Sing a song and steal your soul- It’s just so catchy! So much so that I ended up defacing my physical copy to include that quote on the front, which you will be able to see in an upcoming blog post about my defaced books!

I loved how this was a mix of dystopian and fantasy, mainly because the fantasy element was what really kept me going as I’m not really a fan of dystopian. The way that these monsters manifest was really interesting as well! They are created from the violence of humans, and there are three types depending on the violent act committed. Sunai are the rarest of the monsters and are created from unspeakably horrible acts of violence, like mass shootings and the like. Each type of monster was well written and well thought out!

The way that Schwab entwined these monsters with a dystopian world was just so interesting, and having started Our Dark Duet, I can say that this element only gets better as you go.

Another thing I absolutely loved were Kate and August. I love how they put on this brave face but show their real side to each other. Their interactions were so fun to listen to, and the narrators voices for each character felt like they were really that character, unlike how some audio books don’t change the accent/voice for each character.

I didn’t find the beginning hard to get through or understand as I’ve seen a few reviews say it was, but it’s also quite possible that my love of extremely complex fantasy worlds helped me to understand and pick up on this world a little quicker.

I ended up finishing this book on audio in two days, which is quite insane considering I almost never get a chance to listen to audio books.

I highly recommend this book to any fantasy lovers, and especially anyone who has been looking to read any of Schwab’s works but hasn’t yet, or those of you who have started but haven’t read this duology!


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

13 responses to “This Savage Song REVIEW”

  1. Rachel @ Book-a-Mania Avatar
    Rachel @ Book-a-Mania

    No way! I’m reading this book right now and I’m totally loving it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      Just wait until you get to the end! It’ll make you want to pick up the second book immediately!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beks @ The Little Fiction Fox Avatar

    I still haven’t read anything by V.E. Schwab, even though I own 3 of her books 🙈 This duology definitely intrigues me the most. Shame it’s not one of the 3 I own 🤔😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      😂 I own a lot of her books too, right now I only need to finish Our Dark Duet and start Vicious and Vengeful. I also own the Shades of Magic series, but those are all I have. I still want to get the others that she’s written!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thecritiquesofafangirl Avatar

    This has been on my TBR for a while now and after this review I really wanna read it ans that quote is awesome

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      Isn’t it? There are actually more pieces to it, in the book it’s part of a nursery rhyme about the different types of monsters. If you listen to the audiobook they actually sing it and it’s honestly the creepiest/best nursery rhyme ever!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thecritiquesofafangirl Avatar

        Oooooooooooo….that sounds awesome

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wandering-Reader Avatar

    I recently finished the Darker Shades of Magic series and have been wondering which Schwab book to try next…. perhaps I’ll start with This Savage Song! It sounds so good! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      It was amazing! And I highly recommend the audiobook if you have the opportunity to read it that way, the narrator really brought the book to life!

      Like

  5. Kathy @ Pages Below the Vaulted Sky Avatar

    I couldn’t really get into her Shades of Magic books, but I do definitely want to try this out at some point. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      Thank you! I really want to go back and reread the Shades of Magic series because I feel like I missed a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Emma @ AFCTL Avatar

    I found Shades of Magic to be really good overall, but her writing was hard to keep up with at all times, it felt like the writing style changed and context changed, too. This Savage Song is sitting in my kindle right now, so I should get around to reading it now that I’ve seen such a positive review! 🙂 I’m looking forward to your Defaced Books post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. meltingpages Avatar

      Thank you! I have to confess that I don’t always notice writing style, but to me if I don’t notice the writing that means it’s good lol. If it’s something I notice it has the potential to pull me out of the story.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment